Experience life as it was in the past. In the year 1851, a modest settlement was established on the banks of Brushy Creek, next to a sizable round rock that was situated in the center of the creek. This large round rock served as a landmark for a low-water crossing that was suitable for carts, horses, and cattle. Brushy Creek, which may be found in the vicinity of Chisholm Trail Street, is home to a piece of Round Rock's rock-solid history.
The enormous "round rock" marked a good site for Native Americans, cattle drives, and stagecoaches to cross Brushy Stream prior to the construction of the first bridge across the creek, which did not take place until around the year 1890. Between Chisholm Trail and Brushy Creek, in the exposed rock, there are still wheel ruts that were probably carved by wagon trains or wagons carrying stone from a nearby quarry. These ruts are still visible today. Old Stagecoach Road was an earlier name for what is now known as Chisholm Trail. The Chisholm Trail was said to have had a stagecoach stop along its route, according to a local tradition.
Around the year 1851, a small settlement was established on the banks of Brushy Creek, next to a sizable round rock that was situated in the center of the creek. The brushy creek crossing near the round rock was a low-water crossing that was convenient for wagons, horses, and cattle to use. Brushy Creek was the name given to the village by the first postmaster, but in 1854 the name of the small settlement was changed to Round Rock in recognition of the rock that would later become famous. The so-called "round rock" can be found in the center of Brushy Creek, not far from Chisholm Trail Street.